New Jersey State Officials Begin New Session

Last Edited:

Some new and familiar faces officially took their seats in New Jersey's legislature and are ready to begin their new session.

New and returning lawmakers in the 80 member State Assembly and 40 member State Senate took their Oaths of Office in Trenton on Tuesday, January 9th.

Recommended: Cumberland County Freeholders, Sheriff Sworn In

The legislature is once again controlled by Democrats this year, gaining one new seat in Senate, and two new seats in the Assembly.

Senator Steve Sweeney returned to his position as Senate President, while Vincent Prieto was replaced by Craig Coughlin as the new Assembly Speaker.

Governor-elect Phil Murphy is set to take the Oath of Office on Tuesday, January 16th.

Read: Governor Christie Gives Final State of the State Address

SNJ Today is a Southern New Jersey news and information source that is dedicated to providing current stories related specifically to South Jersey.

Do you have community news or events? Email, text SNJNews to 313131, or call 856.825.NEWS (6397).